Mary and the child Jesus, located above the entrance to the Marian Memorial Auditorium.
The Marian Theatre Guild is Whiting’s longest running community theatre!
Since the days of Jim LaPert back in the 1920’s, St. John’s has had a rich history of performance. Today, The Guild continues that long tradition of producing excellent drama and musical theatre in our parish auditorium.
The group was originally organized as a social activity for the parishioners in 1926 with its first production called “Mammy’s Lil’ Wild Rose.” It officially became “The Drama Club” in 1928. It continues today as an award winning theatre steeped in theatrical and community history.
Two shows per year are presented: one in the spring and one in the fall season. Auditions to the shows is open to everyone, parishioners are encouraged volunteer on stage or behind the scenes.
The box office number for the Guild is 219-473-7555.